Let's salute to our Indian Army together, We are proud to be Indian.

Chandrika Prasad Srivastava KCMG, ComIH, IAS (Retd.) (8 July 1920 – 22 July 2013) was a retired Indian civil servant, international administrator and diplomat.

C.P. Srivastava was born on 8 July 1920 and was educated in Lucknow, India (BA, MA, LLB). He started his career as a civil servant in India, entering the Indian Administrative Service, becoming a Joint Secretary to the Indian Prime Minister’s office from 1964–1966, during the premiership of Lal Bahadur Shastri.

C.P. Srivastava became the first chief executive of the Shipping Corporation of India and in 1974 was elected to serve as the Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization (IMO), a United Nations agency based in London, serving successive four-year terms as Secretary-General from 1974 to 1989. During this time he played a pioneering role in the establishment of the International Maritime Academy in Italy, and the International Maritime Law Institute in Malta. He was also the first Chancellor of the Sweden-based World Maritime University which was founded in 1983 to address a pressing need for maritime professionals in the developing world


Academic honours

  • In 1987 he was named an honorary graduate by the University of Wales
  • Honorary LL.D from Bhopal (1984) and from Malta (1988)

National honours

  • Padma Bhushan in 1972 in recognition of his contributions to establishing one of the most successful public sector undertakings in India.
  • In 2005 he received the 2004 Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award for Excellence in Public Administration and Management Sciences by the then President of India, A.P.J. Abdul Kalam.
  • In 2009, he was awarded the Padma Vibhushan, India’s second highest civilian award, by the President of India.

From organisations

  • Gold Mercury International Award Ad Personam – 1984
  • Award, Seatrade Academy – 1988
  • Silver Medal of Honour of Malmo, Sweden – 1988
  • In 1991, he received the International Maritime Prize from the International Maritime Organization for his contribution to their work and objectives.