Let's salute to our Indian Army together, We are proud to be Indian.

Jnanendra Nath Mukherjee CBE, FRSC (23 April 1893, Mahavdepur, Rajshahi District-today in Bangladesh – 10 May 1983), was a reputed Indian chemist as well as an internationally respected colloid chemist.

Jnanendra Nath Mukherjee was the eldest son of his parents, Shri Durgadas Mukherjee and Shrimati Saratshashi Devi. His father had a brilliant academic career and became the Principal of the Raj Chandra College, Barisal. He gave it up later in favour of a Provincial JudiciaI Service. Jnanendra Nath lost his father when he was only twelve years old, and was brought up along with his younger brother.

From the Municipal high School, Burdwan, Mukherjee appeared in March 1909 at the last Entrance Examination of the Calcutta University and got a District Scholarship. Jnanendra Nath was a student of Presidency College (1909–1915) and received his BSc (1913) and MSc (1915) degrees of the Calcutta University. Based on his thesis for MSc Degree a paper on Electric Synthesis of Colloids was published in the Journal of the American Chemical Society.

Professor Mukherjeeled a very illustrious life holding several important positions. Some of them are :
Professor of Chemistry, University College of Science and Technology, Calcutta Director, Indian Agricultural Research Institute founder Director” Central Building Research Institute, Roorkee Part-time Scientific Adviser, Departments of Agriculture, Animal Husbandry, Irrigation, Forest, Community Development, Government of West Bengal Administrator, Boardof Secondary Education, West Bengal Member. Union Public Service Commission President, State College of Agriculture of West Bengal President, Indian Science Congress Association President, Indian Chemical Society President, Indian Society of Soil Science President, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science Founder -~Honorary~ Secretary of Indian Chemical Society President, Indian Science News Association President, Indian Society of Soil and Water Conservation Vice-President, Indian Statistical Institute Member, Foundation Committee Fellow, Indian National Science Academy Fellow, Asiatic Society Life. member, Chemical Society, London Member, General Assembly, Board of Executive Committee of the International Council of Scientific Unions Chairman, Export Fertilizer Committee Chairman, Homeopathic Enquiry Committee Chairman, Research Committee, Department of Agriculture, Govt. of West Bengal Chairman Land Utilization Board,Govt.of West Bengal Chairman, Research Committee, CSIR Member, Technical Committee and Board, CSIR Member, Senate and Board of Accounts, University of Calcutta Secretary (Science), Re organisation Committee, University of Calcutta Chairman, several scientific committees of ICAR Leader of the Indian Delegation to :

  • the VI Committees of the International Society of Soil Science, Holland
  • the Third Congress of the International Society of Soil Science, Oxford
  • the Imperial Agricultural Bureau Review Conference, London Member, Indian Scientific Mission of the Govt. of India to UK, USA, and Canada Member, Indian Delegation to the Royal Society Empire Scientific and British Commonwealth Official Scientific Conference, London

Member, Indian Delegation to the United National Scientific Conference on the Conservation and Utilization of Resources, Lake Success, USA Member, Indian Delegation to the Second Congress of the Pan Indian Ocean Scientific Association, Perth, Australia Delegate to the Conference on Tropical and Subtropical Soils, Rothamsted President, Board of Trustees Surendranath Trust, Calcutta.

Awards and honours

  • Padma Bhushan (1964)
  • Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) (1943 Birthday Honours)
  • Fellow of Indian Academy of Science, Bangalore, Indian Chemical Association and Royal Society of Chemistry (London)
  • Founder Secretary, Indian Chemical Society, President (1935–36), Indian Society of Soil Science
  • Member, Council (1935–38) and as Vice-President (1941–42)
  • Foreign Secretary, INSA (1943–44) and (1947–51)
  • General President, Indian Science Congress Association (1952).