Let's salute to our Indian Army together, We are proud to be Indian.

Vrindavan Lal Verma, an eminent Hindi novelist and playwright, was born on 9 January 1889 at Mauranipur and died on 23 February 1969. He was honoured with Padma Bhushan for his literary works Agra University presented him with honorary D. Lit. He received Soviet Land Nehru Award and the government India also awarded him for his novel, Jhansi Ki Rani.

Vrindavan Lal Verma was born into a noble Srivastava Kayasthya family. After graduation from Victoria College, Gwalior, he took a degree in law from Agra College and started practising in Jhansi.He was drawn towards mythological and historical narratives from early childhood. His masterpiece, Mriganayani, set at the end of the 15th century in Gwalior, tells the legend of Man Singh Tomar and his “doe-eyed queen” Mrignayani. His first original work was Mahatma Buddha Ka Jivan Charitra (1908). His play Senapati Udal (1909) was proscribed by the government. He wrote some short stories and essays also.

His historical novels are

  • Gadh Kundar(1927)
  • Virata ki Padmini(1930)
  • Musahibju(1943)
  • Jhansi ki Rani(1946)
  • Kachnar(1947)
  • Madavji Sindhia(1949)
  • Tute Kante(1949)
  • Mriganayani(1950)
  • Bhuvan Vikram(1954)
  • Ahilya Bai(1955)

Varma’s social novels include

  • Sangam(1928)
  • Lagan(1929)
  • Pratyagat(1929)
  • Kundali Chakra(1932)
  • Prem ki Bheni(1939)
  • Kabhi na Kabhi(1945)
  • Achal Mera Koyi(1947)
  • Rakhi ki Laj(1947)
  • Sona(1947)
  • Amar Bel(1952)

His plays include an adaptation of his novel, Jhansi ki Rani, Hans Mayur (1950), Bans ki Phans (1950), Pile Hath (1950), Purva ki Aur (1951), Kevat (1951), Nilkanth (1951), Mangal Sutra (1952), Birbal (1953), and Lalit Vikram (1953).

Varma wrote short stories also which have been published in seven volumes. His autobiography Apni Kahani has also been applauded.

The government of India issued a postal stamp on 9 January 1997.